Chevron Left
Volver a ETL and Data Pipelines with Shell, Airflow and Kafka

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a ETL and Data Pipelines with Shell, Airflow and Kafka por parte de Habilidades en redes de IBM

4.5
estrellas
168 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

After taking this course, you will be able to describe two different approaches to converting raw data into analytics-ready data. One approach is the Extract, Transform, Load (ETL) process. The other contrasting approach is the Extract, Load, and Transform (ELT) process. ETL processes apply to data warehouses and data marts. ELT processes apply to data lakes, where the data is transformed on demand by the requesting/calling application. Both ETL and ELT extract data from source systems, move the data through the data pipeline, and store the data in destination systems. During this course, you will experience how ELT and ETL processing differ and identify use cases for both. You will identify methods and tools used for extracting the data, merging extracted data either logically or physically, and for importing data into data repositories. You will also define transformations to apply to source data to make the data credible, contextual, and accessible to data users. You will be able to outline some of the multiple methods for loading data into the destination system, verifying data quality, monitoring load failures, and the use of recovery mechanisms in case of failure. Finally, you will complete a shareable final project that enables you to demonstrate the skills you acquired in each module....

Principales reseñas

MB

11 de oct. de 2022

Course Is Good but, if you can add some more practicles that will surely help understand better and help all learner grasp things very quickly.

DS

13 de jun. de 2022

Excellent introduction to this topics. Labs contain all you need to know how to start using this type of technologies. Highly recommended.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 46 revisiones para ETL and Data Pipelines with Shell, Airflow and Kafka

por Nataliya S

12 de oct. de 2021

Thanks to IBM and Coursera for the great "ETL and Data Pipelines with Shell, Airflow and Kafka" course, that I passed with Grade Achieved: 100%. It's the third course, that I've passed, as a part of "IBM Data Engineering Specialization". I was so carried away by the course that I literally sat up until 2 am almost every day. In this course I could apply my knowledge of Python, Pandas, SQL, Bash commands to build ETL Batch and Stream pipelines.

por Dmitry K

17 de sep. de 2021

Buggy practice. Not possible to complete without fixing airflow start script yourself. Nobody monitor or fixing issues here

por Chris B

20 de abr. de 2022

Course content is good but labs are riddled with bugs and in dire need of quality control. I encountered many time-consuming, frustrating technical issues that made completing this course a slog. Final assignment introduces some difficult linux manipulations that were not covered in the coures and are not really that relevant to the subject matter. Some questions on the final are unclear and could be better written. Would recommend the instructors or whomever created this course to eat their own cooking and go through this course and fix the various issues.

por Evgeny D

29 de sep. de 2021

It's one of the most challenging courses I've been enrolled!

por RLee

13 de ene. de 2022

The final project to connect Airflow as a pipeline management tool to Kafka server is a very useful hands-on project. More details or explanations on the syntax of Python calling Kafka producer and consumer, which are in the files of toll_traffic_generator.py and streaming_data_reader.py, would be more valuable rather than just providing these two files to run on its own.

por Benjamin A A

20 de ago. de 2022

I cannot proceed with the "SUBMIT a DAG" lab as I am constantly being shown the error - "cp: cannot create regular file '/home/project/airflow/dags/my_first_dag.py': Permission denied" when I run the command - "cp my_first_dag.py $AIRFLOW_HOME/dags".

How are you expecting me to complee this lab when I am getting a permission denied error. Please fix this asap.

por Ilya K

13 de ene. de 2022

Perfect environment to make experiments! Very easy and powerful in use.

por Omar H

26 de ene. de 2022

It's great introduction for airflow and kafka but still an introduction it is shallow doesn't offer much but at the end you will understand what you need to continue further in both technologies.

por YANGYANG C

17 de ene. de 2022

Love the labs, but do not like the robotic lectures.

por Santiago Z A

15 de sep. de 2022

REALLY A GOOD COURSE BUT:

- Labs are not debugged (inaccuracies)

- I understand that Kafka a wide technology and maybe it will take more than a week to cover in a appropiate way, but the labs were only about copy and paste commands.

por Tal M

17 de jul. de 2022

The course is really basic, it only introduces the keywords and very high level concepts of ETL. Barely discusses any technical challenges or constraints. Some of the questions in the quizzes are absurd.

por Natale F

15 de dic. de 2021

Interesting course with enough labs.

por Hugo A O O

6 de dic. de 2021

i really liked the labs

por Chris W

3 de abr. de 2022

A decent overview of Airflow and Kafka. Worth it for the time invested. The labs were good, however the execution of the final assignment was poor -- you have to submit two dozen screen captures for a peer reviewed assignment. Taking screen caps of code is silly, why not just submit the code? Plus you are taking the caps before you even know if your code works. And you are relying on strangers to read and understand your code before you can get credit for the course. Fortunately, some kind soul found mine quickly and gave me 100%. My code did work -- I tested it thoroughly -- but you can't really tell from screen caps.

por Sina S S

7 de may. de 2022

A good introductory course to airflow and kafka. Could have been broken up into at least two courses focusing on each of these platform, and going more in depth in each one. Also, the final assignment is a pain to complete especially due to some errors in instructions. But overall, It is a decent course.

por Katarzyna G

26 de mar. de 2022

It would be much better with real instructors and with no peer review that is not objecitve and no proper ansers clue

por BO W

8 de jul. de 2022

final quiz sucks!

why are you so sick to make up this quiz ?

this quiz is pretty much more like GMAT reading test instead of IT assessment !

por Brusk A

25 de feb. de 2023

Amazing for beginners to this subject! The labs are super useful and everything is explained in a really nice way. Can definitely get you started doing a simple project using all that you've learned. Something nice for your portfolio and github :)

por Sreepad P

6 de jul. de 2022

The course is simply amazing which provides good amount of hands-on sessions to learn about building data pipelines with Shell scripting, Airflow and Kafka. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to be a Data Engineer.

por David A S

14 de jun. de 2022

Excellent introduction to this topics. Labs contain all you need to know how to start using this type of technologies. Highly recommended.

por Mohamed A

10 de jun. de 2022

Thanks to all the instructor's efforts, one of the best DATA engineering courses, contains hands-on Experience with essential data tools.

por Darrick L

7 de sep. de 2022

Very useful high-level overview with practical examples of the major technologies that drive modern data pipelines.

por Theodosios T

5 de ene. de 2023

The explanation was very thorough and easy to understand. The exercises were very helpful. Great course overall!

por Uchechi N

31 de dic. de 2022

This was my first introduction to Apache airflow and i found the course detailed and practical.

por k b

24 de abr. de 2022

Nice intro to ETL and Data Pipelines. Beginner level easy to follow hands on Airflow and Kafka.