Chevron Left
Volver a Communicating During Global Emergencies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Communicating During Global Emergencies por parte de Universidad Emory

4.7
estrellas
357 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

In collaboration with the Rollins School of Public Health and the CDC's Division of Global Health Protection, Emergency Response, and Recovery Branch, this course introduces basic concepts and principles of communicating during a global crisis or emergency. It explores why communication during an emergency is different and the importance of adapting emergency messages to the needs of affected populations. Through sample scenarios, you will get the opportunity to identify information needs and develop useful messages using six guiding principles to help you communicate effectively and promote behaviors that reduce health risks during an emergency....

Principales reseñas

AG

26 de may. de 2020

The course was able to provide a simulation on emergency response mechanisms. The reading materials and video lectures provided are engaging and effectively introduces new concepts to a new learner.

SL

27 de abr. de 2020

I enjoyed this taking this course and found the information to be useful in any emergency, not just global ones. I have already begun using some the techniques and they have proven to be helpful.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 120 revisiones para Communicating During Global Emergencies

por Hana A

25 de may. de 2020

The course description needs to be altered to reflect true content of course - Communication for Health and Public Works Professionals During Global Crisis.

As an enterprise communications professional, this course offered minimal information that would be useful to me in my profession.

por Aron A U G

27 de may. de 2020

The course was able to provide a simulation on emergency response mechanisms. The reading materials and video lectures provided are engaging and effectively introduces new concepts to a new learner.

por A D

27 de may. de 2020

Effective Communication is a very essential tool in our daily lives especially during emergencies where the right information at the right time is received by the right person.

por DARRYL S C

13 de may. de 2020

Great course! Many of us may automatically consider a lot of the points covered when going through our own experiences but I like how this course covers each consideration into an easy to understand point. I also like how it makes the student understand the why behind each consideration. Highly recommended!

por Phongnarin S

28 de abr. de 2020

Great course! I learn a lot how to communicate with people in the fragile time. So I learn that kindness from our words really does matter. Thank you very much to everyone.

por Maryellen R

25 de jun. de 2020

This is an EXCELLENT (and Timely ) course. I wish our fearful Federal leaders had abided by these principles and utilized them.

Since March 1, 2020, (BE FIRST!!!), as our neighborhood Outreach person and Neighborhood Emergency Team leader, I have used these principles and strategy in publicizing info from the OR Health Authority on Covid-19 daily on our multi-neighborhood social media, "Nextdoor." I believe being the first source of info to publish, and continuing to publish frequently and regularly, "monopolized" the venue and eliminated a potential flood of rumors and worries. Rumor and anxiety THRIVES on Nextdoor social medium (pun intended). But not this time. Not yet.

por SD L

28 de abr. de 2020

I enjoyed this taking this course and found the information to be useful in any emergency, not just global ones. I have already begun using some the techniques and they have proven to be helpful.

por Desanka M

13 de ago. de 2020

Video lessons are high quality, it is easy to understand and very interesting. I believe that this course is really good for people who work or plan to work in Security sector.

por Tolulope B

16 de abr. de 2020

My knowledge about Communications particularly during emergency situations has increased 100%

por Philippe B

14 de nov. de 2019

Quality course, very clear and well done videos of professionals in the field.

por Gunjan R

9 de abr. de 2020

This course will help me in becoming a good citizen and help society.

por Md A R

8 de abr. de 2020

One of the best course I have ever had. Thanks a lot.

por Christian H

15 de abr. de 2020

Solid overview and introduction. Appreciated the earnest presentation as well as the case study of sorts at the end. Great pointers to the applicable CDC and WHO resources.

por Nina

11 de dic. de 2020

This course was thorough in theory, providing comprehensive outlines for planning and executing a crisis response. However, it's worth noting that there are no real-life examples of how these theories have been used in practice. Some of the CDC and WHO documents listed for suggested reading are also years old, though presumably many of the principles they contain are still applicable. The benefit of the course lies in the many principles it lays out -- fundamentals for planning.

por Igor K

20 de abr. de 2020

Nice course with very calm lecturers, but wish there would have been role play scenarios to present examples first-hand vs concepts in theory. Maybe even live examples from history, where things went well and where perhaps comms breakdown caused issues. Learning from live examples of the past would be very effective.

por Igor G

14 de jul. de 2020

It is worth to pass this course. WHY ONLY 3 STARS?, Be franly, course is very good, but for me, too little video information and explanation. There are lots of additional articles, books etc. for self education but I prefer first to listen and then to hone this information by myself

por Thanawadee T

6 de nov. de 2019

I had done all assignments almost 2-3 weeks. But my grade is still in process! I must check and ask to extent the course deadline for many time. I would like to receive the Certificate but I have not finish this course because those reason!

por Ashenafi A

19 de feb. de 2023

Communicating During Global Emergencies

During an emergency, effective communication is critical for ensuring that accurate information is disseminated and that people are able to take appropriate actions to protect themselves and others. The following are some of the key points covered in a course on communicating during global emergencies:

1.Understanding the role of communication in emergency response: Understanding the role of communication in the larger emergency response effort is essential for effective communication during an emergency.

2.Crisis communication strategies: Certain strategies, such as using clear and concise language, remaining consistent in your messaging, and providing regular updates, are particularly effective in communicating during a crisis. You may learn about various modes of communication that can be used during an emergency, such as social media, emergency alerts, and traditional media.

3.Establishing trust with stakeholders: Trust is an essential component of effective communication in an emergency. You could learn how to build trust with stakeholders like the public, government agencies, and other organizations involved in the response effort.

4.Handling misinformation and disinformation: During an emergency, a lot of misinformation and disinformation circulate. You might learn how to deal with this by fact-checking and providing accurate information in a timely manner.

5.Ethical considerations: Communicating during an emergency raises a number of ethical issues, such as how to balance the need for accurate information with the need to protect people's privacy, or how to ensure that communication efforts do not disproportionately affect vulnerable populations.

Overall, a course on communicating during global emergencies should assist you in developing the knowledge and skills required to communicate effectively during times of crisis.

por D. L

24 de ene. de 2023

This course was good quality. Helpful handouts and weblinks that will assist me in teaching a course on communication during emergencies. The instructors are top notch. The videos are fully integrated into the navigation. There are also transcripts and a straight forward peer review process. I wish that there were more real-life examples. The advice is often very general and would benefit from historical instances that would illustrate application of the principles.

por Yitian X

15 de abr. de 2020

The CERC skills taught by this helps a lot during emergencies. Especially when situation of COVID-19 pandemic becomes worse, It can directly reflects the flaws and deficiency of every government that needs immediate correction and improvement. Sometimes I even doubt whether the most important lesson learned from such emergencies is that we human beings will never learn a lesson from emergencies. May all human beings conquer COVID-19.

por Sarthak P

28 de may. de 2021

It is a great course as it gave important and vital information on how to properly communicate during an emergency, it gave clear explanation that how do we need to give information and that we need to understand the what misery the affected families are going through. Trust is the backbone in all emergencies. All in all this course laid all important information that we ALL should have.

por E. B

24 de jul. de 2020

To complete the course takes little long and take almost two full days. This course contains many useful resources like certificate, Rescue and Respond during emergency, communication skill elaborately providing, Scientific facts and Psychological information. It helps to ensure that you are learning new ways of skills.

por Alexandra M

27 de jun. de 2020

The key points are promptly given. The whole course is easy to understand. I appreciate the brief discussion of the videos. They have given the students incentive to read more related articles from what they provide. The content of the discussion can also be integrated into answering the assignments and quiz.

por Thu N

30 de dic. de 2021

The course provides a balance of theory, practical tips and best practices from experienced experts and from credible organizations such as CDC and WHO. This course is really helpful for me to have a refresh and equip myself with more knowledge and skills necessary for my communication career.

por Aninkan G

30 de abr. de 2020

Nice course.The course gave me a lot of information about how to communicate with each other in case of emergency situations and made me consious about various emergency situations that one should be aware of.Thank you Coursera and Emory University for providing such a wonderful course.